Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
2006 May 11 TSBEP Meeting (PA)
Share |

May 12, 2006


Yesterday, TPA helped win a victory for psychology! The Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists passed a motion not to consider any further proposed independent practice rules set forth by the Texas Association of Psychological Associates.  The Board passed this motion on a 5-2-1 vote.  The outcome assures that psychological associates will not be able to use board rules as an avenue to gain independent practice.  The PAs argued that since the Psychological Associates Advisory Committee was abolished during the sunset process, there was nothing in the statue that prevented them from practicing independently.  Therefore, they requested that the TSBEP change the supervision requirements such that psychologists would no longer supervise PAs, then PAs could begin independent practice.


After 10 months of dealing with and studying this issue, the TSBEP finally realized that the PAs were dealing with a scope of practice matter and that a policy issue like this must be dealt within the legislature.  The Board received several letters from legislators discouraging the passage of these proposed rules. 


I, along with TPA Board of Trustees Members and Members of the Association worked diligently with TSBEP on this issue to help educate them on the concerns at hand If you are a dues paying member of Texas Psychological Association, thank you for your continued support and please know that you have been well served by your Association again and we will continue to advocate on your behalf. For those of you who are not members of the Association, we ask that you consider joining knowing that this kind of effort consumes staff time and takes resources. Membership information is always available at


TPA wants to thank the members of the TSBEP who worked long hours dealing with issue, psychologists from around the state who mailed/faxed letters of concern and to the following psychologists who took a day out of their practices to participate in this meeting.




Kay Allensworth, PhD

Amy Blackmon, PhD

Marla Craig, PhD

Bonnie Gardner, PhD

Thomas Kramer, PhD

Bruce Mansbridge, PhD

Leslie Rosenstein, PhD

Dan Roberts, PhD

Selia Servin-Lopez, PhD

Vicky Spradling, PhD

Melba Vasquez, PhD



Paul Burney, PhD


College Station

Brian Stagner, PhD



Lane Ogden, PhD


Ft. Worth

Earl Johnson, PhD

Alan Hopewell, PhD



Laurie Baldwin, PhD

Leslie Crossman, PhD

Suzanne Mouton-Odum, PhD

Carmen Petzold, PhD

Robin Reamer, PhD



Joseph McCoy, PhD

Jose Sanchez, PhD


San Antonio

Dee Yates, PhD


TPA Staff

David White, CAE

Sherry Reisman



David White, CAE
Executive Director

Contact us:
1464 E. Whitestone Blvd, Ste 401  I  Cedar Park, TX  I  78613  I  Google Map
Toll Free (888) 872-3435  I  Local (512) 528-8400  I  Fax (888) 511-1305  I  Email: